mpide not loading in windows

supermac
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 12:11 am

Re: mpide not loading in windows

Postby supermac » Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:48 am

OK! I got it to load again.
I had to go to:C:\Users\**your user name here**\AppData\Roaming\mpide

Rename the preferences.txt to preferences.txt.old

I restarted and it is working again!

JimG
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:44 pm

Re: mpide not loading in windows

Postby JimG » Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:26 am

supermac wrote:OK! I got it to load again.
I had to go to:C:\Users\**your user name here**\AppData\Roaming\mpide

Rename the preferences.txt to preferences.txt.old

I restarted and it is working again!


Works for me also. Many thanks.

How did you work that one out? :D

Jim.

User avatar
Jacob Christ
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 6:34 am
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Re: mpide not loading in windows

Postby Jacob Christ » Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:39 pm

We just saw this issue as well. It happened to use because we had a board variant selected in one copied of MPIDE that did not exist in the newly downloaded version.

Jacob

NOTE: Issue posted to github.

https://github.com/chipKIT32/chipKIT32-MAX/issues/233
PONTECH Quick240 an industrial form factor platform for chipKIT and Arduino users.

philippel13
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:45 pm

Re: mpide not loading in windows

Postby philippel13 » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:41 pm

hi,

i've the same problem with my ACER netbook on windows 8. MPIDE seems to do all the works but in final nothing is done ! And no error message so it is very confusing.

I'm using the 0023 version of mpide. The java version is 7 update13.
I've tried to delete the "preference.txt" but no change. I've also select the good board, an uno32.

With my desktop on windows 7 i've no problem. The java version is 7 update 10.

An idea ?

User avatar
majenko
Site Admin
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:51 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: mpide not loading in windows

Postby majenko » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:44 pm

In what way does it "not work"?

Do you see the MPIDE splash image?

Does the editor window open up?

Can you compile a sketch?

Can you upload to the board?

It is essential we know at which of these stages it fails.
Why not visit my eBay shop? http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Majenko-Technologies
Universal IDE: http://uecide.org

philippel13
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 4:45 pm

Re: mpide not loading in windows

Postby philippel13 » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:56 pm

In fact all seems works normally.
No problem with the editor. I can compile the sketch.
And when i want to download it, i can see the the 'uploading to I/O board" and finally the "uploaded done" but nothing is done.
The uploaded global time seems just to short as normal.

User avatar
majenko
Site Admin
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:51 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: mpide not loading in windows

Postby majenko » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:00 pm

When you press the button to upload the sketch, hold on to the "shift" key. The tooltip should change from "Upload" to "Upload (w/ Verbose Output)". You will then see in the Output window all the commands that are being run. The last one (the one that does the actual uploading) should be avrdude.

Also, if you run mpide.exe from a Command Prompt window (if you can get one in Windows 8) you should be able to see all the debugging information scrolling up the screen. You may get some clues in there.
Why not visit my eBay shop? http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Majenko-Technologies
Universal IDE: http://uecide.org


Return to “Multi-Platform IDE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest