No target found chipKIT Uno32 on Arduino 1.8.5 and chipKIT-core 1.4.3

Post Reply
hadiknown
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:47 am

No target found chipKIT Uno32 on Arduino 1.8.5 and chipKIT-core 1.4.3

Post by hadiknown » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:52 am

I'm just starting out with the Uno32 board and I'm having a world of trouble. I wrote a simple bit of code to have two LEDs alternate in flashing and that compiles fine:

Code: Select all

void setup() {
 pinMode(13, OUTPUT);
 pinMode(43, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
 digitalWrite(13, HIGH);
 digitalWrite(43, LOW);
 delay(500);
 digitalWrite(13, LOW);
 digitalWrite(43, HIGH);
 delay(500);
}
However, I get this error when I try to upload to the board:

Arduino: 1.8.5 (Mac OS X), Board: "chipKIT UNO32"

Sketch uses 6736 bytes (5%) of program storage space. Maximum is 126976 bytes.
Global variables use 3060 bytes (18%) of dynamic memory, leaving 13324 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 16384 bytes.
Programmer for Microchip PIC32 microcontrollers, Version 2.1.24
Copyright: (C) 2011-2015 Serge Vakulenko

No target found.
An error occurred while uploading the sketch

This happened on my Windows machine too. I read issues from years ago about pic32prog, but they claimed that the issue should've been fixed already. Please let me know if more information is required. I hope someone can help.

EmbeddedMan
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 9:24 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: No target found chipKIT Uno32 on Arduino 1.8.5 and chipKIT-core 1.4.3

Post by EmbeddedMan » Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:27 am

hadiknown,

OK, we'll do our best to help you out.

1) What version of chipKIT-core do you have installed in the IDE?

2) Can you see the serial port that the FTDI chip on the UNO32 creates? I.e. if you do "ls /etc/dev" before you plug in the UNO32 and then after, do you see a new TTY port? (I'm not a Mac guy, so I'm a little bit guessing here, but you get the idea.)

*Brian

User avatar
majenko
Site Admin
Posts: 2179
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:51 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No target found chipKIT Uno32 on Arduino 1.8.5 and chipKIT-core 1.4.3

Post by majenko » Wed Nov 08, 2017 10:46 am

It does sound like you have the wrong (or no) port selected...

By the way, the path is /dev not /etc/dev ;)
Why not visit my shop? http://majenko.co.uk/catalog
Universal IDE: http://uecide.org
"I was trying to find out if it was possible to only eat one Jaffa Cake. I had to abandon the experiment because I ran out of Jaffa Cakes".

Reiner6
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:02 am

Re: No target found chipKIT Uno32 on Arduino 1.8.5 and chipKIT-core 1.4.3

Post by Reiner6 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:06 am

I have the same issue, im on windows and i get the same issue

Code: Select all

Arduino: 1.8.5 (Windows 10), Board: "chipKIT UNO32"
Sketch uses 14288 bytes (11%) of program storage space. Maximum is 126976 bytes.
Global variables use 6292 bytes (38%) of dynamic memory, leaving 10092 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 16384 bytes.
C:\Users\lordr\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\chipKIT\tools\pic32prog\v2.1.24/pic32prog.exe -d COM1 -b 115200 C:\Users\lordr\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_118768/AnalogReadSerial.ino.hex 

Programmer for Microchip PIC32 microcontrollers, Version 2.1.24
No target found.

An error occurred while uploading the sketch
    Copyright: (C) 2011-2015 Serge Vakulenko
device manager does identify the chipkit but won't upload

User avatar
majenko
Site Admin
Posts: 2179
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:51 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No target found chipKIT Uno32 on Arduino 1.8.5 and chipKIT-core 1.4.3

Post by majenko » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:47 pm

Is COM1 really your chipKIT board?
Why not visit my shop? http://majenko.co.uk/catalog
Universal IDE: http://uecide.org
"I was trying to find out if it was possible to only eat one Jaffa Cake. I had to abandon the experiment because I ran out of Jaffa Cakes".

Reiner6
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 6:02 am

Re: No target found chipKIT Uno32 on Arduino 1.8.5 and chipKIT-core 1.4.3

Post by Reiner6 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:59 pm

Yes, i checked it from the device manager to confirm this

User avatar
majenko
Site Admin
Posts: 2179
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:51 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No target found chipKIT Uno32 on Arduino 1.8.5 and chipKIT-core 1.4.3

Post by majenko » Tue Nov 28, 2017 12:09 am

Do you see the led L1 flash when the IDE tries to program the board? I.e., is the IDE successfully resetting the board to enter the bootloader?
Why not visit my shop? http://majenko.co.uk/catalog
Universal IDE: http://uecide.org
"I was trying to find out if it was possible to only eat one Jaffa Cake. I had to abandon the experiment because I ran out of Jaffa Cakes".

Post Reply