A word of warning about eBay

Post Reply
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 2187
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:51 pm
Location: UK

A word of warning about eBay

Post by majenko » Sun Aug 10, 2014 10:21 am

If you were thinking of buying a Fubarino board, and you were thinking you might get a good deal on eBay, think again!

I found this listing (as the only UK listing for Fubarino) on eBay, and immediately it rings massive alarm bells:

(click for larger version)

Things to note from this listing:
  • He is supposedly selling the Fubarino SD, a '795 based board.
  • He has a picture of said SD
  • The price is DOUBLE the actual price or a Fubarino SD
And the biggest problem:
If you read the description it's not a Fubarino SD at all, but a Fubarino Mini he's selling!!!

That's right, he's not even selling a Fubarino SD, but a '250 based, board, and that must be the Mini!

This is a fraudulent seller and is to be avoided at all costs!

That's not to say you can't get a good deal on eBay, and not all eBay sellers are the scum that "top-quality-tools" (har har) is. Just look carefully at the listings before you buy, and if you think it looks suspect then it most probably is.

So buy your Fubarino boards direct from Microchip, and you know you'll be getting what you order, and at a fraction of the price.

Oh, and rest assured, the rip-off merchant has been reported.
Why not visit my shop? http://majenko.co.uk/catalog
Universal IDE: http://uecide.org
"I was trying to find out if it was possible to only eat one Jaffa Cake. I had to abandon the experiment because I ran out of Jaffa Cakes".

Post Reply